In 1891 the Russian Tsar Alexander III signed an order concerning the beginning of the rail way building.
Circle Baikal rail road as a part of Transibirian railroad, is a unique monument of the engineering art. It is running along the northern shore of the southern part of Baikal Lake from Sludianka town to Port Baikal along the southern part of Olhinsk plateau.
Nowadays Circle Baikal rail road is a part of Irkutsk department of the eastern Siberia rail way.
Nearly 1 carriage of different detonating fuses was used for 1 km of the road. And the other ground work was done with a volume equal to 400 carriages. 28.7% of the ways length were embankments, 71.3 % were holes (it is necessary to mention that the most part was done in the rocks). The upper construction of the way had to be done heavier: heavier rails were laid, and the number of sleepers was increased. Because of a difficult relief the minimum radius on the sharp turnings had to be decreased.
The constructing work on the rail road was speeded because of the beginning of the Russian Japanese war 1904-1905. The length of the way at the end from the port Baikal to Misovaya was 244 versty (it is nearly 260 km). The total cost of 1 km circle Baikal rail road was nearly 130 thousand rubles. (It is comparing with 93 thousand rubles on the other parts of this road.)
To make a through rail way connection between the banks of Baikal Lake before the finishing of the construction work, it was decided to open a ferry boat.
On the 24 of April 1900 the first ferry boat ice breaker named Baikal was brought in to service. There were 500 passengers on its board, 167 horses, 2 engines, 3 carriages and 1000 pood of luggage. And on the 1st of august the sister ship christened Angara started to work caring passengers and luggage.
From 1930 till 1950 a lot of settlements with new houses, offices for military men, electro stations and other public institutes appeared along the rail road.
In 1950 the construction of Irkutsk hydro electro power station started. Because of this fact a part of circle Baikal road from Irkutsk to Baikal settlement, coming along the Angara River was reconstructed in 1956 and in the same year it was flooded during the filling of Irkutsk water reservoir (only the rest of the dumb on the shore of Angara near the settlement Baikal was left there). So the end road appeared which you can still observe from Sludianka to Kultuck through Marituy to port Baikal.
Presently the part of the road89 km long the road from Sludianka to port Baikal is called the Circle Baikal rail road. There are 4 stations Kultuck, Marituy, Ulanovo and Baikal and one double track 137 km are on this road. there are 38 tunnels with a general length 9063 m (the longest one is 777.5 m long across the Poloviniy cape) 15 stone galleries with the general length 295 m and 3 iron concrete galleries with holes, 248 bridges and viaducts, 268 support walls are used on Circle Baikal rail road. tunnels and stone galleries of Circle BRR are unique, because they were built not typically and were not rebuilt recently, having saved the initial idea of architectures and engineers of the beginning of the last century.